NFS-Planet


 
NFS Shift

Need for Speed Shift Hands-On @ gamescom 09

NFS-Planet was at the gamescom 09 in Cologne, Germany. Our teammmeber Junkie met the producers of the upcoming Need for Speed Shift and could get an impression of the current build of the game. You can read his experiences here:



Pages: [1]

After a long-lasting residence in Leipzig, the Games Convention, now renamed as gamescom, took place in Cologne, Germany for the first time. Therefore, Electronic Arts with its German headquarters right in Cologne provided an extensive program for all visitors. All Need for Speed fans had the opportunity to relax at a sitting area with Need for Speed Nitro or to sit down in some bucket seats to check out Need for Speed Shift. For webmasters, pro gamers and other VIPs from the NFS community a kart race and a barbecue was held – even some developers participated there and had a lot of fun. You can find some pictures from this event in our » picture gallery.

In spite of the community event we managed to get enough time to play the soon to be released Need for Speed Shift intensely and even to check out its competitors Forza Motorsport 3 and Gran Turismo 5.

One of the highlights at the EA booth was certainly the NFS Shift area, where a little LAN party was arranged for all of the race game fans. Each of the eight PCs built up there got hooked up with three monitors, d-box racing seats, G25 steering wheels and a surround sound system – with this setup, everyone had the chance to tame a Maserati MC12 GT1 and to show off his racing skills to the other drivers. Thanks to the sound of a screaming V12 engine right behind your back, force feedback effects coming from the seat and steering wheel and last but not least the game itself with its outstanding sensation for speed, the driving experience was obviously quite impressive. In spite of offering similar equipment at their booths, the competitors can't keep up here: They might have a little advantage regarding the degree of detail of their cars and landscape, but Forza and Gran Turismo are presenting themselves very demurely and sterilely compared to Shift with its much more intense “right in the middle”-sensation. The experience of piloting an over 600 bhp Maserati at speeds up to 180 mph over the tiny roads of the Nordschleife is simply breathtaking.

Major handling differences were apparent, too. Even with turned off driver assists, Forza's and Gran Turismo's cars keep reacting sluggishly and are still comparatively easy to control. In contrast, Shift is really a challenge to keep his car even on the street without ABS brake and similar electronic helpers – the driving physics are very responsive and so you will need a lot of susceptibility to gas, brake and all the controls of the car tuning section. But if the game asks too much of you, it is just some mouse clicks to turn on even options like steering or braking assists and to make it more suitable for beginners this way.

Actually, you will experience the same problems in drift mode, too. Simple turning in and flooring the pedal as you might have done it in Need for Speed Carbon merely results in some neat donuts. Since driver assists like traction control seem rather useless here, you will need to get the feeling in car tuning and the throttle button once again. In the beginning, a clean run is no matter of course, so you should definitely calculate some time to get to know the new driving physics. And maybe for the first time in the recent history of the game the brake pedal isn't just an ornament!

Bad news for all customizing fans. The selection of optical attachment parts is narrowed down to three body kits per car – the rear wing is also included here, so you can't modify or add it afterwards. Autosculpting is also gone. Furthermore, the body kits vary in their aerodynamic attributes, so the bottom line is that the last and most expensive one is also the most useful one. Likewise, interior tuning is just three-stage and for this reason there is no real “customizing” here. However I have to admit that nearly all of the body kits are looking very good and are consistent with those of real race cars of the ALMS or Super GT series, for instance – so there's no resemblance anymore to some of the body kits of Shift's predecessors you pretty much had to get used to. As always, the selection of rims and vinyls is extensively large, and thanks to some pre-designed liveries even beginners will have the opportunity to create some neat looking race cars.

Apart from that, looking for weaknesses in Shift is very hard if one can get used to the new game concept. AI Balancing is still something to improve since some races were way too easy to win, whereas others were ultra hard (although you don't have to win every race to proceed in the career mode), but I guess there will be some adjustments made until release. Moreover, weather effects are also missing – you just can set the time of day a race should start (no night-time racing anyhow). A licensed soundtrack is also nearly non-existent since there is no music during the race (which actually fits pretty well in this scenario) but only during the replays.

“Action racing” was one of the key words for NFS Undercover, but it actually works quite well for Need for Speed Shift since it is offering an amazingly intense, enthralling driving experience. In addition, it is able to keep up with serious simulation games like Forza Motorsport 3 and Gran Turismo thanks to its truly demanding physics. I insistently recommend you to check out the demo (unfortunately we still don't have any release date yet) – many hours of playing already convinced me personally like just a few Need for Speed games could before – September 17th is definitely a red-letter day for me!


Pages: [1]


- Junkie


You can discuss about NFS Shift in our boards:

- Discussion Board

Further Material:

- Screenshots
- Movies




Ostereiersuche





Highlights
Community
Partner
NFS-Planet & all Content is © 2000-2014 by NFS-Planet
Do not copy content or images without our permission.

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensors.
Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and
materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.

This page has been created in 0.00 seconds.

powered by Host Europe

NFS-Planet


 
NFS Shift

Need for Speed Shift Hands-On @ gamescom 09

NFS-Planet war auf der gamescom 09 vor Ort und Junkie hat die Producer von Need for Speed Shift getroffen und konnte sich ein Bild vom Spiel machen. Was er dort alles gesehen habt, lest ihr hier:



Seiten: [1]

Nach langjähriger Residenz in Leipzig fand die nun in gamescom umbenannte Games Convention erstmals in Köln statt – da ließ sich Electronic Arts als ortsansässiger Publisher natürlich nicht lange bitten und stellte für alle Besucher ein umfangreiches Programm auf die Beine. So durften es sich die angereisten Need for Speed-Fans in einer Couchecke mit Need for Speed Nitro gemütlich machen oder sich zum Antesten von Need for Speed Shift in Rennsitze schnallen lassen. Zudem stand ähnlich wie letztes Jahr in Leipzig für Website-Betreiber, E-Sportler und sonstige Prominenz aus der europäischen NFS-Community wieder ein Kartrennen mit anschließendem Barbecue auf dem Programm – dieses Mal ließen sich sogar einige Entwickler den Spaß nicht entgehen. Die Bilder dazu findet ihr in unserer » Bildergalerie.

Doch trotz des Community-Events blieb für uns ausreichend Zeit, um das in Kürze erscheinende Need for Speed Shift intensiv anzuspielen und auch die Rennspielkonkurrenz in Form von Forza Motorsport 3 und Gran Turismo 5 abzuleuchten.

Ein Höhepunkt am EA-Stand war sicherlich der NFS Shift-Bereich, wo für alle Rennspielfans eine Mini-LAN-Party veranstaltet wurde. An acht PCs wurden jeweils drei Monitore, d-box-Schalensitze, G25-Lenkräder und Surround-Soundsysteme angeschlossen – mit diesem Setup durfte man sich dann hinter das Steuer eines Maserati MC12 GT1 schwingen und im lokalen Multiplayer den Mitfahrern die Rücklichter zeigen. Mit dem Sound eines kreischenden V12-Motors im Nacken, Force-Feedback-Effekten in Sitz und Lenkrad und nicht zuletzt dem Spiel selbst mit seinem hervorragendem Geschwindigkeitsgefühl ist das Fahrerlebnis natürlich sehr beeindruckend. Die Konkurrenz kann hier nicht mithalten, obwohl ähnliche Geschütze auf deren Ständen aufgefahren wurden: Beim Detailgrad der Fahrzeuge und der Landschaft mögen Forza und Gran Turismo vielleicht einen Tick besser sein, dafür präsentieren sich die Spiele sehr nüchtern und steril verglichen mit Shift, das einfach ein viel intensiveres Mittendrin-Gefühl erzeugen kann. Das Erlebnis, einen über 600 PS starken Maserati mit Geschwindigkeiten bis zu 290 km/h über das schmale Asphaltband der Nordschleife zu zirkeln, ist einfach atemberaubend.

Beim Fahrverhalten sind ebenfalls große Unterschiede zu beobachten. Selbst mit ausgeschalteten Fahrhilfen reagieren die Fahrzeuge in Forza und Gran Turismo vergleichsweise träge und behäbig und sind einfach im Zaum zu halten. Ohne ABS und ähnliche elektronische Helferchen ist es in Shift dagegen eine echte Herausforderung, sein Vehikel überhaupt auf der Strecke zu halten – die Fahrphysik entpuppt sich als sehr reaktionsschnell und so ist viel Feingefühl an Gas, Bremse und den unzähligen Reglern des Wagentunings gefragt. Wem dies alles aber zu viel wird, der darf mit nur ein paar Mausklicks auch Optionen wie Lenk- oder Bremshilfe aktivieren und so das Spiel einsteigerfreundlicher gestalten.

Ähnliche Schwierigkeiten bereiten zunächst auch die Driftrennen. Mit einfachem Einlenken und Gasgeben, wie man es vielleicht aus Need for Speed Carbon gewohnt ist, lassen sich lediglich formschöne Pirouetten zaubern. Da Fahrhilfen wie eine Traktionskontrolle hier eher unbrauchbar sind, ist auch hier das richtige Gefühl bei Tuning und Dosierung des Gaspedals gefragt. Ein fehlerfreier Lauf ist zu Beginn keine Selbstverständlichkeit mehr, etwas Zeit zur Umgewöhnung sollte jeder NFS-Fan unabhängig vom Rennmodus einkalkulieren. Und vermutlich erstmalig in der jüngeren Geschichte der Reihe ist selbst das Bremspedal nicht nur zur Zierde vorhanden.

Schlechte Nachrichten gibt es für alle Freunde des Customizings. Die Auswahl an optischen Anbauteilen beschränkt sich auf drei Bodykits pro Fahrzeug, wobei der Heckspoiler ebenfalls dazu zählt und entsprechend nicht nachträglich hinzugefügt oder gewechselt werden kann. Autosculpting ist ebenfalls nicht mehr enthalten. Zudem unterscheiden sich die Anbauten hinsichtlich ihrer aerodynamischen Eigenschaften, weshalb im Endeffekt das teuerste, zuletzt freigeschaltene Bodykit auch das brauchbarste ist. Ebenso ist das Innenraumtuning nur dreistufig gehalten und beinhaltet somit kein "echtes" Customizing. Allerdings muss man eingestehen, dass die Bodykits nahezu ausnahmslos sehr gut aussehen und größtenteils denen echter Rennwagen z.B. aus der Super GT oder ALMS entsprechen – von den designtechnischen Entgleisungen früherer NFS-Teile bleiben wir zum Glück verschont. Zahlreich wie immer ist dafür die Auswahl an Felgen und Vinyls, wobei es hier dank vorgefertigter Lackierungen auch Einsteigern möglich wird, schnell und einfach attraktive Rennwagen auf die Räder zu stellen.

Abgesehen davon muss man bei Shift, sofern man sich mit dem neuen Spielkonzept anfreunden kann, wirklich lange nach Kritikpunkten suchen. Augenscheinlich war das schlechte Balancing der KI, wodurch einige Rennen viel zu leicht, andere wiederum unschaffbar schwer wurden (auch wenn für den Karrierefortschritt nicht jedes einzelne Rennen gewonnen werden muss). Daran wird aber vermutlich bis zum Release noch gearbeitet. Fehlanzeige gibt es aber im Hinblick auf Wettereffekte und den lizenzierten Soundtrack zu vermelden: Einstellbar ist lediglich die gewünschte Tageszeit (trotzdem keine Nachtrennen) und Musik gibt es während der Rennen gar nicht zu hören (was aber durchaus in das Szenario passt), nur während der Replays wird man beschallt.

„Action-Rennspiel“ war seinerzeit der Schlüsselbegriff für NFS Undercover, doch für Need for Speed Shift ist dieser Ausdruck durchaus passend, bietet es doch ein unglaublich intensives, packendes Fahrerlebnis. Zudem kann es dank einer wirklich fordernden Fahrphysik auch mit Simulationsgiganten wie Forza Motorsport 3 oder Gran Turismo 5 mindestens mithalten. Das Antesten der Demo (leider ist uns bis zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch kein Erscheinungstermin bekannt) sei euch an dieser Stelle dringend ans Herz gelegt – mich persönlich haben unzählige Spielstunden bereits überzeugt wie bei kaum einem Need for Speed-Teil zuvor – der 17. September wird bei mir im Kalender rot angestrichen!


Seiten: [1]


- Junkie


Über NFS Shift könnt ihr auch in unserem Forum diskutieren:

- NFS Shift Forum
- Diskussion zum Hands-On Artikel

Weiteres Material:

- Screenshots
- Videos







Ostereiersuche



Consolero.at

Speedmaniacs

Highlights
Shop
Community
Partner
NFS-Planet & all Content is © 2000-2014 by NFS-Planet
Do not copy content or images without our permission.

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensors.
Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and
materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.

This page has been created in 0.00 seconds.

powered by Host Europe